Skip to content Skip to navigation

Celebrating Linda Cordell & the Future of Southwest Archaeology

Saturday, March 25, 2023 -
1:00pm to 3:00pm
Hibben Center for Archaeology Research
Free and Open to All
Join us for an afternoon celebrating the work of pioneering archaeologist, Linda Cordell. There will be student posters, lightning talks, and a signing of the book Linda S. Cordell: Innovating Southwest Archaeology, edited by Maxinne McBrinn and Deborah Huntley (2022, Museum of New Mexico Press).
Linda S. Cordell (1943–2013) was a leading archaeologist and anthropologist who began her career at a time when few women rose to prominence in the field. A professor, lifelong researcher, author, field school director, department chair, and museum specialist—the study of the American Southwest, particularly the northern Rio Grande, was at the center of her life’s work.
Among Dr. Cordell’s many honors and awards in recognition of her contributions to the field of archaeology are election to the National Academy of Sciences, election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and earning the Society for American Archaeology’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The American Anthropological Association awarded Cordell the A. V. Kidder medal for eminence in American Archaeology, making her the second woman to have won the Kidder medal in its sixty years of existence.
This event is made possible by the UNM Department of Anthropology and the UNM Maxwell Museum of Anthropology.


Contributors to this volume in memory of Dr. Cordell are established scholars and influential Southwest archaeologists. In chapters covering diverse topics from Pueblo ceramics and tree-ring dating to Southwest migrations and NAGPRA, they offer a broad view of the Southwest as seen through the influence of one extraordinary individual. Cordell’s research and work contributed to a greater understanding of Ancestral Pueblo life in the Southwest. 

The book includes essays by: Maxine E. McBrinn; Theodore R. Frisbie; Nancy J. Parezo and Catherine S. Fowler; Carla R. Van West; Judith A. Habicht-Mauche; Karin Larkin; Matthew A. Peeples and Gregson Schachner; Toni S. Laumbach and Karl W. Laumbach; Stephen H. Lekson and Catherine M. Cameron; Kelley A. Hays-Gilpin, George J. Gumerman III, Dennis Gilpin, and Lisa C. Young; Richard H. Wilshusen; Benjamin A. Bellorado and Barbara J. Mills; Suzanne L. Eckert and Deborah L. Huntley; Lindsay Anne Randall; Sheila Goff, Leigh Kuwanwisiwma and Dody Fugate; Joseph Traugott; Jun Sunseri and Charles Carrillo.